Our Area

The rich ecology of northern museums, their collections and interactions with people and place make for vibrant and creative cultural communities. Whether situated in urban centres, deeply rural villages or coastal towns, all museums in the north play an important role in their localities and nationally, representing key aspects of our human story. They connect people, teaching us about ourselves, our histories and our planet.

The north of England is made up of three regions; North East, the North West, and Yorkshire and the Humber.

This area consists of Cheshire, Cumbria, County Durham, East Riding of Yorkshire, Greater Manchester, Lancashire, Merseyside, Northumberland, North Yorkshire, South Yorkshire, Tees Valley, Tyne and Wear and West Yorkshire, plus the unitary authority areas of North Lincolnshire and North East Lincolnshire.

MD North will continue to serve museums not regularly funded by Arts Council England or central Government to ensure they not only reach and maintain Accreditation but develop relevant and responsive services for people and for a sustainable future.